FRESHMAN FREESTYLES: ALL 2011 XXL FRESHMAN FREESTYLES! [VIDEOS + INTERVIEW EXCERPTS]

Kendrick Lamar kicked off the Freshman Freestyle’s.. Check em out in order of releases. Random excerpts below each artist’s video.

1. Kendrick Lamar- 3/2/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Speaking on the photo shoot and getting together with the other XXL Freshman 2011:

“I wasn’t nervous at all the day of the shoot. I was looking forward to meeting these cats that I respect. I was just looking forward to meeting these cats and chatting it up with them and see what their vibes are like. Everyone seemed cool. I definitely want to work with Big K.R.I.T. and I definitely want to work with Yelawolf as well. I like all the cats, but Big K.R.I.T. and Yelawolf stuck out most to me. The round table was dope, a lot of people’s opinions on certain situations. I got to express myself more so than just music. I liked it a lot.”

 

2. Yelawolf- 3/3/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Yelawolf comments on his front page cover for XXL

“I feel like I flunked for, like, five years to be here to become a Freshman. It’s dope. I feel like I’m a senior in a freshman class, but I’m honored to be a part of this crew. I just continue to do what I’ve been doing…just making music that makes sense for me and for my crew and doesn’t stop. What got me here is just being me. [The night before the cover shoot], I was in Colorado to do the X Games, so for the past two days, I’ve been going nonstop. Had my show in Aspen last night. We rocked that and finished at 1 a.m., and we drove to Denver and made a connection flight. I’m just hustling. I’m here with no sleep, and that’s the life that I chose. Just happy to be a part of this, man.”

 

3. Diggy Simmons- 3/4/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Diggy speaks on finding out about making the XXL Freshman Class

“When I got that call [from XXL] I flipped, I screamed. I don’t get that hype about nothing, but I was bouncing off the walls. That obviously means that this is a big thing for me. It’s like a dream come true. My dad, [Joseph ‘Reverend Run’ Simmons] was excited for me [too]. That’s something that is important for any artist. Being on the XXL Freshman list is that mark, it’s that stamp. It’s very meaningful to me, so the fact that I got it, and now to see it set in stone, is crazy.”

 

4. Lil B- 3/7/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Lil B speaking on finding out about making the XXL Freshman Class

“When I got the freshmen call I was at home on the Internet as always, and I got a call from my friend and he told me, ‘Man, XXL wanna have you [as a] freshmen.’ I couldn’t believe it when I heard that I was a part of it. It was an honor. It’s a big accomplishment for me to be working so hard, [and] it feels amazing to be appreciated; and very humbling… You know what’s funny is I made a video [last year] called ‘XXL Freshmen 2010,’ [so] it feels amazing that I was chosen.”

 

5. Meek Mill- 3/8/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Meek Mill is signed w/ Rick Ross. He speaks on his partnership with with Wale & Pill

“The other [former] Freshmen that I always liked were Wale, Wiz Khalifa, Pill. I ain’t really gotten the chance to link up with Pill yet because he’s just signed and I’ve been running around. But, me and Wale work good together. He’s got his own following. I got my own following. He got different type of music. I got different type of music. It’s a good thing working with him. They all motivate me because they go hard in their own way. We’ll be able to make music and, plus, make a movie this summer.”

 

6. Mac Miller- 3/9/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Mac Miller speaks on what it means to be a 2011 XXL  Freshman

“Being a XXL Freshman [means] people know that I’m not a nobody, that I’m doing something right and that also opens a lot of doors to work with other artists, new up-and-comers and dudes that have been in the game for a minute. People are going to see me on this cover and say I wonder what he’s about, let me check him out. And then it’s more opportunities to work with people based on the fact that I’ve reached that point and someone can be like well he’s doing something because he’s on the XXL cover.”

 

7. Fred The Godson- 3/10/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Fred The Godson Speaks on how important making the Freshman Class was for him

“Ever since things started picking up last year April, this is what I’ve been gunning for. I’ve been in the office and doing whatever I can do. And I’m like, ‘Yo, I need that Freshmen cover, man.’ It means everything. I think some people take it lighter than others, but it gets so bigger than XXL. You being on that cover with the Freshmen, the new people that’s out, it’s a privilege. It’s an honor. It’s like two million other rappers who would love to have that opportunity. I just been blessed to have a lot of success with doing it by myself, with my manager, Shawn Prez. It’s just been a blessing. There’s a lot of people in my shoes who intend to do this. I’ve been trying to do this, but in the last year, it’s been picking up. God’s been good.”

8. YG- 3/11/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

YG speaks on meeting Snoop

“[I met Snoop one day when,] I went to the studio with Battle Cat at the Record Plant [studio in Hollywood, CA]. Snoop had a session, I was in there with Snoop, chopping it up and he was like, ‘Yeah I hear about you all the time’ and then after that he came out and performed in L.A. at this radio station show he had. He brung me back out during his show and then after that it was just all good. I went on tour with him; we shot the movie [We the Party] together. I did a couple of shows for him, he hopped on the ‘Toot It and Boot It’ remix [and] did the video for me.”

9. CyHi Da Prynce- 3/14/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

CyHi speaks on what being a freshman means to him:

“Freshman is like a stepping-stone. Most artists think this is the biggest point of their career. This is a stepping-stone to bigger and better things, especially with XXL. I want to have one with just my face on it, that’s the cool thing. I just need to stay working and capitalize off of every opportunity I get.”

 

10. Lil Twist- 3/15/11

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Lil Twist discusses his musical style and who he wants to work with in the future

“My whole swag is different. My whole style is different from everybody that was on that cover, and vice versa. Nobody on that cover is like me; they got they own style. My music is different, for different people. [In the future] I definitely, really wanna work with Wiz, which is my big homie. We’re real cool. And my big homie Wale too. We got some stuff already in the works, so real soon I’m gonna have something with them two dudes that I’ma be able to put out.”

 

11. Big K.R.I.T.- 3/16/11 (they saved the best for last!!)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

BIG K.R.I.T. speaks on meeting the rest of the freshman

“It was definitely overwhelming, because—one, with the whole [wearing] make-up thing, it’s not really something I’m into. I don’t think I need that. [Laughs]. That was a little weird. And, just the whole preparation. Doing the round table, the rappers discussing their thoughts and opinions, the cypher and stuff like that, and then being able to just have fun at the shoot. Normally as an artist I don’t really have fun at photo shoots, but I was with my peers, and everybody laughing and kicking it, it was in-tune man. It wasn’t Hollywood, [with] everybody being bougie and all of that shit. Everybody was just down to earth and was really excited to be there. Everybody is putting out quality music, so it’s a new generation of rappers. I’m excited for what’s to come. Just making music that I feel was important.”

 

FOR THE 2011 XXL FRESHMAN CYPHERS  (PARTS 1, 2 & 3) CLICK HERE!!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

